Windows 10 ate my Laptop

A while ago Microsoft announced the upgrade to Windows 10, at that time I had no strong feelings about it one way or the other, as far as I was concerned Windows 7 worked very well and Windows 8 was an unmitigated disaster. When I found out more about Windows 10 my impression was that technically very good but as far as user surveillance and tracking was concerned it was much more intrusive and there were a lot of privacy issues that I was not happy with.

Now that I have used it for a while it has confirmed my initial feelings, before it seemed like a Windows 7 computer was your computer, whereas a Windows 10 computer is Microsoft’s computer which they are kindly letting you use.

Despite my misgivings I eventually upgraded my desktop computer to Windows 10 and all went well, I chose not to get a Microsoft account and learned how to switch off as much of the tracking as I know about and have access to, I also do not use Cortana which just seems like it refers every question to the Bing search engine. Well if I wanted to use a search engine I would use one without having to go through Cortana.

In a way my desktop machine was the least important of my computers, in years gone by it was the most important machine but Laptops have become ever more powerful until now I do most of my work on my Laptop and the desktop machine is just used for games.

The most important machine I have is my Laptop and that is where most of my programs are installed and where most of my documents, spreadsheets and databases reside. In theory my old Laptop was much more powerful than in needed to be to run Windows 10.

Because I have a lot of important documents and data on my Laptop I backed up my hard drive before trying to update to Windows 10, I took the hard disk out of my Laptop and made a clone of it on another slightly smaller hard disk.

It was fortunate that I did because the upgrade turned my Laptop into a brick. When I switched it on it would apparently boot up with the screen with the blue window and the dots chasing one another round a circle but then the screen would go black and the computer would become completely unresponsive.

When it became apparent that the upgrade didn’t work I swapped the backup disk back into the Laptop and investigated the problem. It seems that many people with Alienware MX series Laptop computers were having exactly the same problem.

Alienware is really Dell, when they brought out the MX series computers the Laptops of that series had Nvidia graphics chips but I don’t think they are the official Nvidia graphics chips. Certainly they were renamed and when Windows 7 tried to update the graphics drivers they were misidentified so several times I have had to use the safe boot option to boot with vanilla drivers and roll back the graphics drivers to the previous version. I learned not to update anything to do with the graphics drivers via Windows Update.

That safe boot option no longer exists in Windows 10.

So I decided not to upgrade my Laptop to Windows 10, I was perfectly happy with the way Windows 7 worked and decided to leave it.

However I reckoned without Microsoft’s dirty tricks.

I should have cloned the disk again because the clone now contained the corrupted version with Windows 10 installed, unfortunately hindsight is 20:20 vision and I had decided not to install Windows 10 so I thought I was safe. It was one of the things I intended to do at some point but never got round to it.

One day whilst using the Laptop a dialog appeared saying that the upgrade to Windows 10 had been scheduled for a date which I didn’t take note of, I just cancelled the dialog box assuming that this would cancel the purpose of the dialog. However unknown to me Microsoft had scheduled the update and cancelling the dialog did not cancel the scheduled update.

A few days later I had left my Laptop on doing a virus scan and had occasion to go out in the car to pick up my daughter from her boyfriends house. When I came back the Laptop was in the middle of installing the update to Windows 10, apparently it must have downloaded it and started installing it without my consent or instigation. I thought about switching it off in the middle of the installation but decided against it.

Right after the update Windows 10 appeared to work, for a short time, but then it updated its video drivers and the screen went to 800 by 600 in 256 colours. I thought maybe a reboot would clear the problem but instead it booted to the black screen after showing the screen with the blue window and the dots chasing one another round a circle. After booting up it was completely unresponsive.

So safe boot doesn’t work with Windows 10, the option to go back to Windows 7 only works if you have a working computer which can respond to the command and I have not got a DVD from which I can install a fresh copy of Windows 7, my laptop was provided without media, there was an emergency partition on the hard disk from which I might be able to install Windows 7 if the computer still worked and if it has not been erased by Windows 10.

As far as I have been able to find out the latest video drivers from Nvidia have been deliberately tweaked to fail on non Nvidia hardware, they say that their drivers work on all genuine Nvidia hardware. Alienware (aka Dell) say that they are not going to update the video drivers because the MX series Laptops are obsolete.

Thanks a bunch Nvidia!   Thanks a bunch Alienware!

In the future it is likely that I will have to purchase new computing equipment eventually either for myself or recommend which equipment is to be purchased at work, you can be sure that none of this equipment will be from Dell or Alienware and none of it will have Nvidia graphics cards. This is a pity because Dell do make good monitors.

And of course Microsoft are a big enough company that they feel that they can take a dump on individual customers with impunity, they couldn’t care less.  And they are right of course, there is little I can do to make my complaints heard, apart from expressing them in this blog.

Microsoft don’t seem to have any sort of complaints department, telephone line or e-mail address to handle unhappy customers. I think they know that if they opened anything like that it would get swamped immediately.

I have installed Ubuntu Linux on my old Laptop but of course it won’t run most of the Windows programs I know and love. So I ended up having to buy a new Laptop. And some of the software which I had on the old Laptop was licensed to that computer and won’t activate on the new computer. There are only a few companies who have licensing as pernicious as Microsoft and so only one other non-microsoft program was shackled to the old laptop. But I have had to buy a new copy of Microsoft Office (2013, not the 365 rental version).

So this supposedly ‘Free’ update to Windows 10 has cost me £550 for a new Laptop, £100 for a new copy of Microsoft Office and £60 for replacement of other software.  Over £700 !

Needless to say I am unimpressed with the way Microsoft have rolled out (some might say steamrollered out) Windows 10.

 

2 thoughts on “Windows 10 ate my Laptop

  1. I had the same problems. Windows 10 eventually bricked 2 of 3 computers and there was no way to correct the malfunction. I had one rebuilt and re-installed windows 7, turning w10 updates off entirely and the other is still a brick. I could relate the whole miserable saga but it would be a very long post. I had been enthusiastic about w10 from the start and a naive yet ardent microsoft fan but now have hard, hard feelings against microsoft. Like you, I plan to switch whatever I can to a Linux distro. In my opinion windows 10 was a worse disaster than windows 8. The larger question is of course “why?”. Windows 7 was a masterpiece. I wonder if windows 10 will turn out to be the downfall of microsoft. I know it took away the joy of personal computing for me.

    • The system software on my laptop was destroyed by Windows 10. The laptop is an Ailienware MX series, I have now put Ubuntu Linux on it and now my wife uses it for e-mail and web browsing.

      I don’t think Windows 10 is that bad technically, the thing I don’t like about it is the user surveilance and tracking. Your privacy is definately not safe under Windows 10 and you aren’t in control of your computer or even what software you have on it! If you agreed to the EULA (which you would have to do in order to install Windows 10) then you have given Microsoft permission to delete or uninstall any software or files which they don’t like!

      Windows 7 is really good and I don’t know why it was replaced. For the time being Windows 7 licences can still be bought but Microsoft aren’t issuing any more so it is a finite resource

      Oh well …

Leave a Reply

